Monday, September 21, 2009

'New Moon' Soundtrack: A Quick Guide to Its Lesser-Known Artists

MTV gives us a description of some the bands on 'New Moon' Soundtrack we may not recognize:

Band of Skulls ("Friends"): This White Stripes-by-way-of-Radiohead English trio formed in 2008 and released the blues-rocking Baby Darling Doll Face Honey in March. They played at this summer's Lollapalooza festival and feature the alternating vocals of bassist Emma Richardson and guitarist Russell Mardsen.

Lykke Li ("Possibility"): Another veteran of Lollapalooza 2009, the Swedish answer to Lady Gaga has gained a legion of fans (among them MTV's own Kurt Loder) for the intensely rhythmic and hypnotic dance music on her debut, Youth Novels.

Anya Marina ("Satellite Heart"): The San Diego-based singer/songwriter, sometime actress ("100 Girls") and radio DJ released her second album of playfully sexy pop tunes, Slow & Steady Seduction: Phase II in January. Her songs have been featured "The Real World," "Gossip Girl," "Grey's Anatomy" and "How I Met Your Mother."

Bon Iver & St. Vincent ("Rosyln"): He's sensitive folkie Justin Vernon, whose For Emma, Forever Ago was recorded under the name Bon Iver in a remote cabin in Wisconsin in 2007 and became a blog sensation in 2008. She's Annie Clark, a member of the Polyphonic Spree and Sufjan Stevens' touring band who performs as the St. Vincent. Her second album, Actor, was released in May and featured orchestrated pop songs she said were potential fodder for film scores.

Black Rebel Motorcycle Club ("Done All Wrong"): This L.A.-based psychedelic garage rock act — named after Marlon Brando's motorcycle gang in 1953's "The Wild One" — have been thrashing around since 1998 and have released five albums of twisty, heady rock.

Hurricane Bells ("Monsters"): A side project from Longwave singer/guitarist Steve Schiltz, this unsigned band will release its debut next year. The mellow, country-tinged songs on the Bells' Myspace page promise some seriously introspective, rainy-day pop gems.

Sea Wolf ("The Violet Hour"): The now-main project from former Irving member Alex Church, this California act got its start when Church's tunes didn't fit into Irving's more 1960s inspired psychedelic pop sound. As a result, Church broke off and pursued an Americana-inspired orchestral country-pop sound on albums such as this year's White Water, White Bloom.

Grizzly Bear ("Slow Life"): The beloved Brooklyn indie-rock band known for mixing folk with electronic instruments released one of this year's most acclaimed albums in May, Veckatimest. Their mix of acoustic guitars, chamber pop, electronic bloops and gorgeous melodies have earned them major blog props.

Editors ("No Sound But the Wind"): England's Editors emerged out of the dark rock sound of bands like Interpol and their inspiration, Joy Division, earning a string of overseas hits with alluring tunes like "Bullets" and "Smokers Outside the Hospital Doors."

Alexandre Desplat ("New Moon (The Meadow)"): The French composer has scored more than 100 films and TV shows since 1985. He's best known for his Golden Globe-nominated score to "Girl with a Pearl Earring," as well as contemplative soundtracks to "Hostage," "Syriana," "The Painted Veil" and "The Queen," which earned his first Oscar nomination.

The New Moon Soundtrack is available October 20th exactly one month before New Moon is released on November 20th.

Source: MTV

No comments:

Post a Comment